Name:  Renata
ID #: UKR-KV-01082
Age: 8

Birth date: October 7, 2012
Country: Ukraine
Community:  Kivertsi, Volyn (KV)

Hello!
My name is Renata and I am eight years old. I live in Kivertsi town. I have a mother and a father. My father does not have a job and my mother gave birth to my little brother a short time ago. She cannot go to work because she has to be with my little brother all the time. My youngest brother’s name is Luka. He is very little and funny. He has stomachache at night and I really feel for him. I have a best friend at school. Her name is Anna. She makes up new games and I find it interesting to spend time with her. Anna has a smartphone, so we play Minecraft during a school recess. At Christmas, I go to church where I take part in a performance, sing and recite a poem. My mother gives us presents at Christmas. Besides, kids get some presents (boxes with toys) at church. I enjoy opening this box. During the summer holidays, I go to the lake, walk in the forest and spend time with my friends outdoors. I am in second grade. My father rides me on a bicycle to school. My classes start at 8 am and finish at 1 pm. I also attend art, dance, and singing lessons after school. I like PE and a school break and I don’t like the fact that we have to be at lessons for so long. There are a lot of interesting things we study at school. For example, we learn how to count and I can already read. My favorite food is cutlets, dumplings, spaghetti, and noodles. At home, I usually eat everything that my mother cooks for me: soup, potatoes, porridge, and salads. My mum always bakes something sweet on holidays. In my free time, I like to paint, watch cartoons and ride a bicycle. I want to sell sweets when I grow up.

Dear sponsor! Thank you very much for your willingness to help my family!

I have just told you about my family and me and I will be very glad if you tell me about yourself.

Case-worker’s comments 2020
Renata has leadership traits. She likes to dream about things and is a very creative girl. Renata has her own point of view and can defend her point of view even before adults. She likes to stand out and be paid attention to. The family situation is quite difficult: Renata’s father has had alcohol and drug addiction problems for years. He used to be a church member but he was expelled from the church. The father has been going through rehabilitation on and off but he doesn’t stay long in the rehab center. He lives with her mum who still has enough patience to give him food and buy him clothes because he does not have a job. She believes that he will get closer to God. The only help his family can get from him when he is not drunk is that he can take kids from school or kindergarten and look after his youngest kid while his wife is cooking food. Renata’s mother worked before her pregnancy and could somehow make ends meet. The third pregnancy was a great surprise for her. She is on maternity leave now and it is not always easy for her to cope with her kids because she has gentle nature and lacks her husband’s firmness and support. Now the only income this family has is a child benefit. The church also helps them a little bit. They have a lot of needs: food, school supplies, medicines (the kids often have health problems), and utility bills. The father cannot help his family financially at all. Renata, her two brothers, and mother live in their own apartment which needs to be repaired. The apartment consists of two rooms, a kitchen, and a bathroom. Recently, they got a heating system. The living conditions of the family are safe.

The Hart Child Sponsorship Program will provide a door for this family to have a stronger relationship with God.

How great it will be when Renata knows that you are her sponsor!