Name: Polina

ID #:     RV 04020
Age:     9 years old 

Birth date: April 6, 2012 
Country: Ukraine
Community:  Rivine Oblast

Dearest and kind Sponsor,

My name is Polina, and I’m nine. I live in the city of Rivne, Ukraine. I’m brought up by my grandmother, who’s now retired. I have an elder sister, Anya, who’s 16 and studies in the 10th grade, and brother Dmytro, who’s finished school and now is working. I study well and have good grades; my favorite subject is Ukrainian. I like drawing and attend dancing and singing clubs. Also, I study at the Sunday school and have the Bible for children, which my grandma reads for me. I attend an Orthodox church.

I love animals. I have a kitty called Sonya. She’s quite curious, and I feed and take care of her. I like fried potato and varenyky with blueberries. I have a lot of friends, with whom I spend free time. But my best friend is Varvara; I share all my secrets with her. I have some health problems: chronical allergic rhinitis, dry lips, and frequent cold. My favorite color is pink, and the favorite season is spring. I really love the first flowers, like snowdrops: they are the first flowers to come up from the snow and enjoy the spring sunlight. I help my grandma in housework: wash dishes, tidy the rooms, and go to the store. We live in a tower block in the 7th floor.

My grandma has difficulties bringing us up and taking care of us. Her pension is small, and we are worried about our future. Dear Sponsor, we really do need your help and will all pray for your heart to respond to my pleading and help me.

Sending you hugs,

Polina Hordeieva

Case-worker`s comments 2021

Polina is an obedient, responsible and polite girl who loves animals and is interested in the animal world. Polina is also a good friend and has a lot of friends, and she is reliable: she can keep secrets. She is very active and attends dance lessons. Besides that, she reads the Bible and is interested in a creation story. Her parents got divorced 10 years ago: the father started abusing alcohol and gambling on which he would spend the salary he received, and as a result, he lost his job and left his family. Unfortunately, Polina`s older brother Dmytro, moved in with his father after graduating from school despite the fact that everybody was asking him not to do that. He rarely comes to visit his family. The mother doesn`t have a permanent job; she recently found a temporary job as a seamstress.

Polina`s older sister Anna is in 10th grade. She helps the grandma do the housework and takes Polina to Sunday school. The mother doesn`t pay enough attention to her kids, who are mostly raised by their grandma. Polina gets along well with her sisters.   As for the financial situation, the family is quite poor. The grandma receives a very small pension, and the mother`s income is unstable. The father doesn`t want to work and provides no help to his family at all. The family lives in the apartment which belongs to the grandma, and the living conditions are safe. There is a need to make some improvements in the rooms.

Polina and her family need your support which will show them how much God loves and takes care of them. How great it will be when Polina and her sister knows that you are her sponsor.