Name: Daniil
ID #: UKR-TP-01013
Age: 12

Birth date: July 25, 2006
Country: Ukraine
Community: (TP) Shumsk, Ternopil

My name is Daniil and I am 12. My father has left the family and my mother looks after grandma. My older sister’s name is Anhelina. She has finished the 9th grade and left the village school (there are only nine grades at village school). She doesn’t want to stop going to school, so she will continue her studies (the 10th and 11th grades) at district school. I play various games with the kids in the street, go fishing, and help take care of household during summer holidays. I am a 7th-grade student and get to school on foot. I spend almost 7 hours at school. There are different subjects that I study at school. They are maths, geography, Ukrainian, natural science, Christian ethics, music, etc. Art is my favourite subject. My favourite food is pelmeni (meat dumplings). My mother usually cooks various soups, cereal, varenyky (pierogi), and cakes. She is very good at cooking. I like cooking food too. In my free time, I enjoy baking cakes and drawing. I want to be an artist when I grow up. 

Caseworker’s comments

Daniil is a communicative child but he has difficult temperament. He is sensitive and needs communication. His parents got divorced a year ago. His father drank alcohol a lot and cheated on his wife and he initiated the divorce. He lives separately now. The mother takes care of 5 children on her own. The family finds it difficult to get over this divorce and hopes that the father will come back to the family, though the mother can hardly imagine living with her husband again. The kids pray that their father will come back. The family lives on social assistance. The father might start paying alimony. The income of the family is quite low. The family lives in an old brick house which consists of 4 rooms and a kitchen. The living conditions of the family are satisfactory.