Name:  Mykola K

ID #:     LK 01550
Age:     11

Birth date:  December 12, 2010

Country: Ukraine
Community:  Volyn Oblast

Hello,

My name is Mykola. I am 11 years old and live in Lutsk. I don’t know which job my father has, as he does not live with us. My mother is a janitor, but now she is on sick leave. My female cousin entered vocational school. My best friend is Yura, as it is always fun with him. I like to play the game called “Capture the Flag”. I am preparing for the holiday and helping my mother. During the summer break, I go for walks and have a rest in the village, and go swimming to the river. I am a fifth-grade student and get to school on foot. I am in school from 1 till 6 p.m. I like PE and don’t like Math, as I do not understand it well. We study different subjects at school. I like different food, especially fruit and vegetables. I usually eat cereal, meat, salads, and soups. On holidays, my mother cooks a lot of different dishes, for example, salads and desserts.

I dream of becoming a painter in the future, but my preferences can change.

I am sincerely thankful to you, dear Sponsor, for your support and help of all our family.

Caseworker`s comments 2022

Mykola is kind, generous, sociable, sincere, sympathetic, active, persistent, and stubborn. When the weather is warm, Mykola likes riding a bicycle, walking with friends, and running. In his free time, he likes listening to music. Mother raises Mykola alone. They live with Mykola`s mother`s sister and her family: her husband and three daughters. When Mother`s sister and her husband do not drink alcohol, both families get along well, but when they do drink alcohol, then there can be misunderstandings and squabbles between two families. Because of that, it is emotionally difficult for Mykola and his mother to live there. Mother gets on well with her son. She works as a janitor in the polyclinic school and receives a minimal salary, which is hardly enough to cover the needs of their family. Therefore, they save on many things and live frugally. They share one room in a two-room apartment. The living conditions are poor, and there is a need to make some home improvements. There is no gas water heater in the bathroom and they cannot afford to buy it. The toilet is outside.

This single mother is not able to give her son the privacy, clothing and food items he would enjoy. But they both work together to make life bearable in their simple survival. Mykola is already the size of a man but needs more education and good life lessons to be the man his mother will be proud of.  He is not able to see a good example of father and husband in his uncle but thru his male caseworker he sees the love and care he deserves. Help him to continue his relationship with his caseworkers when food packages are delivered each month. You can be his sponsor.