Name: Nazar 
ID #: UKR-SZ-01322
Age: 12

Birth date: February 15, 2007
Country: Ukraine
Community: (SZ) Polissia

My name is Nazar and I am 12 years old. I live in Rivne city with my grandma. My best friend’s name is Pavlo. We like playing computer games (Minecraft & Soul King) and like going for walks together. At Christmas I eat everything my grandma cooks for me. I mostly play games. I am a 5th-grade student. I get to school on foot because it is nearby. I spend 6 hours at school, though I wish I could just spend 5 minutes there. I don’t like anything at school. There are a lot of subjects that I study at school. It is hard for me to remember information. My favourite subject is computer science. My favourite food is sausage, mashed potatoes, potato pancakes, sour cream, and fried potatoes. I usually eat this food at home and on holidays. In my free time, I like playing games and watching TV. I want to be a cook when I grow up.

Caseworker’s comments

Nazar is a persistent and responsible boy. He is an orphan. His mother Natalia passed away in 2008. Nazar lives with his grandma, Olena. Nazar’s father divorced his mother and so he doesn’t live with or near the family. He provides no social or financial support.  The financial situation is quite difficult. Nazar gets child’s assistance which is quite low. The family lacks money to cover basic needs.  This family shares two rooms in a dormitory building. They are a communal kitchen and bathrooms in the dormitory. They never have funds to fix up the rooms or spend on Nazar. Sponsorship will let the family feel your support through the food packages and summer camp for Nazar!