Name: Roksolana
ID #: UKR-TP-01042
Age: 6

Birth date: January 25, 2013
Country: Ukraine
Community: (TP) Shumsk, Ternopil

My name is Roksolana and I am 5 years old. I live in Temnohaytsi village. My father works in construction and my mother looks after my younger sister Stella. I help my mother plant peppers, cabbage, and tomatoes, and I water these vegetables by myself. I like helping my mother. My friend’s name is Uliana and we like playing with dolls. I love her because she is kind and gives me her dresses. I enjoy playing with cars most. My favorite holiday is New Year’s Eve because I get presents at church and my mother cooks salads and bakes cakes. My favorite food is herring and other fish, chewing gums, and candies. I will start attending preschool classes soon. I don’t like the fact that my school is far away, so my mother will have to take me to the school. My favorite dish at home is borscht (Ukrainian traditional beetroot soup). I want to be a driver when I grow up because I like playing with cars very much. I wish you happiness, good health, and many years to live!

Caseworker’s comments

Roksolana is an obedient, shy, and modest girl. Her family is large and consists of 7 kids. Roksolana’s parents are believers and they have been married for 18 years. The oldest child is 16 and the youngest one is 9 months old. The family situation is good. Three kids go to school, two kids are too young, and two other kids have already finished school. The family lives on the father’s income and child assistance. The income of the family is quite low. The family has its own house which consists of 4 rooms (there is a kitchen, bathroom, and a toilet).