Name:  Serhiy L 

ID #: UKR-GV – 01102
Age:  8 years old 

Birth date: March 16, 2012 
Country: Ukraine
Community:  Lviv (GV)

Dear sponsor,

My name is Serhiy and I live in Lviv. I am 8 years old and I am in the third grade. My school is near my home. I spend a lot of time at school and sometimes the whole day. I like to play games and communicate with my friends at school. My favorite subjects are PE, art, and maths. I don`t like when somebody offends me or other children. My best friend`s name is Volodya. We play chess and other games together. I`ve got a brother and two sisters. Iryna and I attend day center programs at the local church, go for walks, love visiting Hart Summer Camps and church programs. On Sundays, my family goes to church. On holidays, we all get together and cook something tasty. I like to eat varenyky (pierogi), Olivier salad and porridge. At Christmas, my family sings carols and glorifies the birth of Jesus Christ.

When I grow up, I want to be a chess teacher or present information on the internet (YouTuber).

Dear sponsor, thank you for helping my family. I am looking forward to hearing back from you as well as learning something about you in your letter. Goodbye!

Serhiy

Case-worker`s comments 2021

Serhiy is a calm and sociable boy, and shy if he is with people he doesn`t know. He takes offense when people do or say things that are hurtful.  The relationship between Serhiy`s parents is difficult and they often have conflicts in front of the kids. The father abuses alcohol and behaves aggressively, uses verbal and physical force that the children see. However, he gets along with his kids who love and respect him. The mother too gets along with her kids very well. She spends a lot of time with them and takes care of their education and development. She also talks with her kids about life, the future and encourages them to attend church events and meetings.  She helps them to read the Bible and to pray. The mother is very open to conversations with believers from the local church. Besides, she attends weekly Christian meetings for women. The older kids help their mother take care of the household and look after their younger siblings. The mother works as a communications officer in a military unit. The family lives on her salary. The father sometimes earns money by working in construction but he does not have a permanent job. He is not able to fully support his family financially. He suffers from alcohol addiction. Serhiy`s older sister Vasylyna is a trainee in a post office. When she has a full-paying position she will help her family with her salary.  The family lives in a three-bedroom apartment which doesn`t belong to them so they pay rent. They use firewood to heat the apartment. This winter had temperatures cooler than normal so they needed a larger wood supply.  The windows of the apartment are in poor condition and let in air. There is no ventilation system other than opening a window, so all the walls are covered in mold. Only a few electrical outlets work well, so they use many extension cords. This causes electrical surges and breaker problems. In general, the living conditions of the family are not good.

While not a single mother this women works hard to provide physically and spiritually for her children.