Name:  Sofia H

ID #:     RV04030
Age:     9

Birth date:  July 29, 2012

Country: Ukraine
Community:  Rvine Oblast

Dear Sponsor,

My name’s Sofia. I’m in the third grade at school and in the summer, I’ll be turning 10. My family lives in the village of Uizdtsi. My family consists of my mother, father, my older brother Illia and me. My mother will continue to write this letter. Because I have dystrophy (mirror image of letters), it’s difficult for me to write for too long. My mother works in the post office and my father is a carpenter. We live in a picturesque part of our region and the nature is very beautiful around. I go to school here. I also attend musical school, where I learn to play the piano. My school is 1.5km from home and there are no school buses here, that’s why we should get to school on foot. My favorite lessons are reading and PE, but I don’t like math and computer science.

My best friend is Bohdan. We never argue. We like playing hide and seek and finding something interesting to discover. We try to go to church every Sunday, but it’s not always possible, because it’s a bit far away and expensive. During the service, I like singing and I’m pretty good at it. Before pandemic, we used to perform our Christmas songs together. My mother prepares something very delicious for Christmas dinner. I like sweets very much. Although I know that too many of them are bad. I like eating borsht, dumplings, pizza, and pasta, too. I don’t really like meat, because it’s difficult for me to chew it. I have congenital pathology of the gallbladder, that’s why I have no appetite.

Dear sponsor, I want thank you for your help! I want to get to know more about you, too. Tell me about your favorite food and how you spend your free time.

Sincerely yours,

Sofia

Caseworker`s comments 2022

Sofia is a kind, sincere, and friendly child who likes singing and reading, and easily finds the common language with other kids. Her family consists of four people and lives in the village of Uizdtsi. They attend church meetings and are involved in church ministries. They also work with local kids. The church they go to is far from the place where they live. The members of the family get along with each other very well.  Sofia`s father has a permanent job and her mother works part-time but their income is not enough to fully cover the needs of their family. They also have some debts for utilities.  They try to grow vegetables in their garden because it is expensive to buy ones. They live in an old house which was in poor condition when they bought it. They have made some improvements over the years and their living conditions are safe. However, there is still much work to be done.

With war in Ukraine fathers and husbands are on the front line leaving women to care for the children and home.  Caseworker has let us know that people would be desperate if not for the food packages for children.  Villages are populated with mostly women as the men are defending the country or are helping to distribute food and humanitarian aid.  You  can be the help and humanitarian focus for this child and family during this crisis.