Name:  Sofia 

ID #:     GV 01110
Age:     11 years old 

Birth date:  August 26, 2011 
Country: Ukraine
Community:  Lviv Oblast

Hello,

My name is Sofia, I’m eleven. I live in the city. My father died when I was young, and my mother works as a cook. I have a sister. Her name is Natalia, she studies in the 11th grade and dreams of becoming a makeup artist. Also, I have a best friend, Nastya. She’s a best friend because she’s just so cool. We like playing volleyball together. At Christmas, we have dinner together, and I go caroling. During the spring holidays, I spend my time outdoors, and this summer I visited a Hart Summer Camp called “Beyond”. I study in the 6th grade; I go to school on foot, as it’s close to home. At school, I spend 6 hours a day. I like to chat there, and also I like Physical Education; what I don’t like is Math. There are a lot of subjects at school and a lot of interesting to learn, but I still like Physical Education the most. I like to eat pizza and sweets. My mom cooks borscht, varenyky, potato, pelmeni at home. She tries to make at least something special and  tasty for the holidays. In my free time, I like crafting shapes with Play-Doh or drawing.

When I grow up, I want to become a singer.

I want to thank my future donor for helping us. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Case-worker`s comments 2021

Sofiia is energetic, kind, sincere, inquisitive, a bit unorganized, stubborn, sometimes capricious, and fair. There are seven  people ( 3 adults and 4 children) of her extended family  sharing one apartment: Sofiia and her sister, mother, grandma, and aunt with her two sons. Sofiia`s mother and her sister don`t get along at all. Natalia, Sofiia`s older sister, doesn`t often sleep at home. Sofiia`s father passed away when she was little and since then her mother has had different boyfriends. One of them used to live with the family and did not treat them well. He recently died in prison. The mother fails to be a good parent as he does not have the skill or time to nurture her children. Natalia sometimes steals money, and once she was kicked out of school because of theft. Sofiia loves her grandma because she feeds and takes care of her. The financial situation is difficult: the grandma does not work due to health problems, but she receives a pension. The aunt has a job but she does not help the other family or her mother. The mother is looking for a job but she cannot find a permanent one because she is not well educated and lacks people skills. Sometimes they do not have funds to buy even the most necessary things: food, clothing, cleaning supplies. Sofiia and her sister need clothes and hygienic items. At times the family has nothing to eat. The family lives in a shared three-room apartment. The apartment looks neat and tidy. Some home improvements need to be made in one room. The balcony leaks and there is a need to do major repairs in the bathroom. Sofiia really needs your support which will show her and her family how much God loves and takes care of them. Also, it will give them a chance to hear the Gospel. How great it will be when Sofiia knows that you are her sponsor.