Name: Daryna
ID #: UKR-RD-01092
Age: 8

Birth date: July 15, 2010
Country: Ukraine
Community: (RD) Dubrovytsia

My name is Daryna and I am 8 years old. I am a 2nd-grade student and my favorite subjects are reading, maths, and PE. In my free time, I like going for a walk with my best friend Valeriya. We play with dolls, tags, and hopscotch together. I enjoy helping my mother in the kitchen and with cooking my favorite dishes. I like eating potatoes. I have a younger brother. His name is Danylo and he is 4 years old. My mother’s name is Lena and my father’s name is Serhiy. I want to be a nurse when I grow up because I want to help other people.

Caseworker’s comments

Daryna is a cheerful, confident, and honest girl. She likes singing, drawing, playing active games, reciting poems, and retelling the Bible stories. Daryna makes everybody happy and attends Sunday school with joy. Her family is very friendly and the family members get along with each other really well. Daryna’s mother has recently found a job. Daryna’s father doesn’t have a permanent job but he tries to do odd jobs to provide for his family. The family members work in the field and raise some chickens and a pig to spend less money on groceries. They have hardly enough money to buy clothes. The father planned to go abroad to find a job there but he didn’t do that because he didn’t want to leave his little kids without support. The family lives in a small house which consists of one room and a kitchen. There is no bathroom in the house. The house is neat and tidy. The living conditions are poor.